City Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesday each month
  • Commission Chambers
    Municipal Administration Building
    201 W. Central Avenue 
    Lake Wales, FL 33853
_3Z612231 (2)

Workshops / Special Meetings

From time to time, the City Commission holds workshops and special meetings. Workshops are most frequent during the budget process, but workshops are held whenever the Commission feels that information or issues discussed in an informal setting will assist the formal decision-making process. The location of a workshop and special meeting is subject to change. 

Our 2021-2022 City Commission: L-R Robin Gibson, Terrye Howell, Eugene Fultz - Mayor, Kris Fitzgerald, Daniel Williams

Jack Hilligoss, pictured to the right, is currently serving as interim Commissioner in seat 4/District 27 in place of Kris Fitzgerald.
Hilligoss head shot
Time is set aside at the beginning of each regular City Commission meeting for comments from members of the public.

Commission meetings are televised live on Comcast Cable Channel 6. The meetings are streamed live and are archived at Commission Video Archive.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Approved Minutes are available following approval by the City Commission.
View Most Recent Agendas, Minutes, and Videos


There are 5 commission members, of which four are city commissioners and one mayor. Each member is elected to serve a 3-year term. 

The five commission members are elected at large, of which four commission members must reside and be nominated in the district represented by the seat to which they are elected and the other commission member is nominated and elected to serve as mayor and can reside in any district of the city.

The commission shall elect from among its members a deputy mayor who shall act as mayor during the absence or disability of the mayor, and if a vacancy occurs, shall become mayor for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Current Members

  • Eugene Fultz, Mayor                                                                       Seat 1 / At-Large                                                                                   First term began: May 7, 2013                                                               Current Term Began: May 7, 2019   Term Ends: May 7, 2022
  • Daniel Williams, Commissioner
    Seat 2 / District 19
    First Term began May 4, 2021                                                              Current Term Began May 4, 2021   Term Expires: May 7, 2024
  • Terrye Y. Howell, Commissioner
    Seat 3 / District 122
    First term began May 6, 2014                                                          Current Term Begin: May 5, 2020 Term Expires May 2, 2023

  • Jack Hilligoss, Commissioner
    Seat 4 / District 27
    Term began: May 4, 2021 Term Expires: May 7, 2024
  • Robin Gibson, Commissioner/Deputy Mayor
    Seat 5 / District 28
    Term began: May 5, 2020   Term Expires: May 2, 2023
The City Commission is an elected governing board which, on behalf of the citizens of Lake Wales, determines policies to be implemented by the City Manager. Policy-making is accomplished by consensus of the Commissioners and is formalized by adopting ordinances, passing resolutions and adopting an annual budget.

Commissioners are entitled to a salary of $378.23 per month. The Mayor's salary is 50% more. Commission members are also eligible to participate in the City's group health and dental insurance plans. Any Commission member who chooses to participate will have his premium paid by the City.