Commission Election - General Information

Next Commission Election

The next Commission Election is Tuesday, April 5, 2022. The polling place for this election is changed for precincts 523, 527, 528, 530, 531,532 and 542 to the Municipal Administration Building located at 201 W. Central Ave, Lake Wales FL 33853.

For precincts 519, 524, and 526 The polling place is changed to the Lake Ashton Clubhouse 4141 Ashton Club Dr Lake Wales FL 33859.

You may also Vote-by-Mail. To request a Vote-By-Mail ballot contact the Supervisor of Elections Office at 863-534-5888. The commission members elected will be sworn into office during the Tuesday, May 3, 2022 regular city commission meeting.

Commission Seats - Three (3) Year Term

Allocation of commission seats: In accordance with section 3.01 of the City Charter, there shall be five (5) seats on the city commission. Commission seats are allocated as follows:

Seat 1  At-Large
Seat 2  Commission District 19
Seat 3   Commission District 122
Seat 4  Commission District 27
Seat 5  Commission District 28

Election to Commission Seats: 
Candidates for the office of city commission members shall qualify for and be elected to a specific seat. District commission members shall be qualified electors of and reside within the district or area for which the seat is allocated. District commission members shall be nominated by qualified electors residing within their district or area. Candidates for the at-large seat shall be qualified electors and residents of the city and shall be nominated by qualified electors residing in any district of the city. Here is a map of the districts.


The City's Charter requires that members of the Commission be registered voters and residents of the city for at least 1 year prior to the date of their election.

​Nomination by Petition

Pursuant to Section 8.03 of the City Charter, candidates for election to the city commission must be nominated by petition of 25 qualified electors of their district or any district in the city if for the at-large seat. Official nominating petitions are provided by the City Clerk in the candidate packet.

Notice of Commission Election

The City Clerk publishes a notice prior to the qualifying period stating which offices are to be filled at the next commission election, the dates of the qualifying period, and procedures for qualifying.  2022 Election Notice English   2022 Election Notice Spanish/Espanol

Candidate Packets

Candidate packets are prepared by the City Clerk and will be available on February 4, 2022. Qualifying papers and instructions, nomination petitions, campaign treasurer reports, and applicable election laws are included in the packet. A campaign account can be opened at any time.

Qualifying Period

The qualifying period for the 2022 Commission Election will begin at 12:00 noon on Monday, February 14, 2022 and end at 12:00 noon on Friday, February 18, 2022. 

Current Commission Members

Commission Member
Seat Number
District Date Sworn In Date Current Term
Term Expiration
Eugene Fultz, Mayor
1 At-Large
May 7, 2013 May 7, 2019 May 3, 2022
Daniel Williams 2 19 May 4, 2021 May 4, 2021 May 7, 2024
Terrye Y. Howell
3 122 May 5, 2020 May 5, 2020 May 2, 2023
Jack Hilligoss 4 27 August 17, 2021 May 4, 2021 May 7, 2024
Robin Gibson, Deputy Mayor 5 28 May 5, 2020 May 5, 2020 May 2, 2023